Oops, Simplicity 1803

2 Feb

Hands up, who knew this would happen?

DSCF8610

I couldn’t help it. I was sewing a pet bed and kept glancing over at the pattern. It literally called to me *make me, make me* I had to obey its wishes.

I have to apologise,readers. It’s minus a gazillion and I ain’t taking those boots off for nobody!

The fabric is that beautiful jacquard I picked up at Walthamstow for £2 a metre. I bought 4 metres and I reckon I’ve still got about 2-2.5m left! (Any ideas what to make with the leftovers? Jacket? Skirt? Another dress?)

The more I worked with it the more I realised this as an upholstery fabric. A cheap upholstery fabric, which is why it was thin for the style, but thick for dress fabric. As such, I couldn’t do the gathers as the pattern suggested so I went with pleats. I actually really like it with pleats and the thickness of the fabric holds the structure but still looks drapey. Perfect!

DSCF8606

It was a pain in the arse to work with though. As upholstery fabric tends to, this shit went everywhere. EVERYWHERE!!! I keep finding little black threads appearing from nowhere (including in my pants?!)

And it attracts everything too. So black threads were coming off the fabric and sticking to the fabric. Oh it was horrible.

The pattern tried to convince me I was a size 20. No,no,no my friend. I’ve heard of your ways 1803, you won’t trick me into self-pity. I cut the 18 for my boobs (because nobody likes flat boob!) and then brought in the waist.

Raspberry pockets!

DSCF8604

Oh yeah, I moved the pockets. Who wants pockets on the front of a dress?! Crazy!

I love, love, love this dress. Have I finished sewing my pet stuff? No. Do I regret it? No. Now I can sew the pet stuff in my beautiful new dress (and then get the scraps and threads stuck to me…) Oh well!

4 Responses to “Oops, Simplicity 1803”

  1. gwendiequilts February 3, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    I just found you over on Sew Many Ways linky party and I love your blog! I don’t make many clothes for myself these days but I do sew for my grandchildren. (Smaller people = less fabric.) I mostly post about small quilts but, as long as I can sew, I’m happy. I live in Oregon in the US and today is Superbowl Sunday, a big deal for football fans, so a lot of the fabric shops have great sales for us others. I’m going shopping.

    • makesphere February 3, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      Aww, shucks. My face is as pink as my pockets!
      I’m really quite jealous of your fabric shopping. None for me until next payday. Boo 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Minnie Mouse/Comic Relief Dress | Makesphere - March 19, 2013

    […] off, the sizing was way off. My other Simplicity 1803  was a little loose but nothing glaringly bad and honestly it’s just fine- especially for […]

  2. The Aurora Dress | Makesphere - February 8, 2014

    […] pattern is another adaptation of Simplicity 1803 (see here, here and here for other versions) I just can’t get enough! Despite the bastards trying to tell me […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

