Minnie Mouse/Comic Relief Dress

19 Mar

If anyone guessed that I was making another Simplicity 1803 then you were spot on, because that’s exactly what I did!

DSCF8797

I’m calling this my Minnie Mouse dress because I did originally wear it with a little black bow belt and honestly I couldn’t stop thinking about Minnie Mouse all day. Which is fine by me really, she’s a pretty awesome mouse to think about if I’m going to be thinking of any mouse. I’m also calling it my Comic Relief dress because I finished it the day before CM and wore it as my ‘something red’ (correction:all red) for work. Minnie Mouse is a bit cooler though isn’t she.

DSCF8807

I did a few things differently this time round.

First off, the sizing was way off. My other Simplicity 1803  was a little loose but nothing glaringly bad and honestly it’s just fine- especially for those days where you don’t want to look like you feel like crap but you do want to feel comfortable because you really feel like crap! It’s a bit of a pick-me-up 🙂 I’m thinking this must be down to the weight of the fabric. The last one was a fairly heavy upholstery-type fabric whereas this one is a light cotton. Remember how I said in the other post that the pattern wanted me to cut a size 20? Well Simplicity really are trying to make people feel like shit. I cut the 18 for the last one and used it again for this one and seriously guy, it was like a sack. Actually, it was worse than a sack, it was like MC Hammer’s trousers.

Of course I didn’t realise MC Hammer had been advising Simplicity’s sizing staff until it was done and I put it on to wear it…. So out came the seam ripper. *Sigh* I took that thing in a LOT. So what was supposed to be a 20 is actually probably a 14 in a normal weight fabric, which is my RTW size and it makes me feel a whole lot better. It shouldn’t, because you know 2 hours work down the drain, but all the fabric being cut off was pleasing in a sick sort of way.

You may also remember in my other 1803 that I got rid of the scooped back. Uh-oh…

DSCF8810

I completely forgot! Although if I’m honest it’s not too bad. It’s not that I don’t like the look of them, it’s that usually they bother the fuck out of me and I try to pull it up all day but surprisingly this isn’t too bad so there may be more scoop backs to come!

Also, I took the liberty of adding some cute little buttons on the front. Look at those buttons

DSCF8808

LOOK AT THEM!

DSCF8809

2 Responses to “Minnie Mouse/Comic Relief Dress”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Aurora Dress | Makesphere - February 8, 2014

    […] pattern is another adaptation of Simplicity 1803 (see here, here and here for other versions) I just can’t get enough! Despite the bastards trying to tell […]

  2. Me-Made-May week 2 | Makesphere - May 17, 2014

    […] Dress: Minnie Mouse Dress […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

