Hetty and Agatha

27 Aug

Oooo, a new pattern from Andi Satterlund!! Hetty looks totally amazing. It’s my birthday next month and I already had two of Andi’s patterns on my list along with the wool to knit them and now Hetty might make it to the top of my list.

Scratch that, Hetty has made it to the top of my list. I think it’s my favourite pattern of hers yet.

Anyway, enough swooning. Agatha is another one of Andi’s patterns and the first one I started knitting (remember how I knit a bit of one thing and then one of another so believe me when I say I have other Andi patterns underway 😉 )

It was a pain in the backside at first, this being the first garment I’ve ever knitted,  but it was complete user error and not Andi’s pattern-writing at all. But once I got the hang of things I was all over this and I’m halfway through a second already!

I have to apologise for the photos, Mark is away working and decided he absolutely needed all of the memory cards so I’ve had to use my phone 😦

Image

Image

There’s definite mistakes in it, things I didn’t realise until several rows later and was too lazy to frog and reknit. However, I feel confident that the next one is going to be better so this purple version was just a very drawn out muslin :p

This is how I blocked the thing:

Image

Not conventional by any means but actually I’m not sure why?! Perhaps people care about their carpets…

I started out with boards and plastic bags, blah, blah, blah… This was much much easier. My board was too small to do the whole cardigan so I had to do it in halves which was quite frankly, rubbish. My carpet is considerably larger than my cardigan and the pins stay in nicely which makes for a perfect blocking tool. I stuffed the arms with plastic bags as well to open up the detail on the arm a bit more, I spritzed and steamed the thing and then left it overnight.

Now to choose a colour for my inevitable Hetty project. Oh wait, I did just do a post about all my WIPs

but Hetty….! ❤

5 Responses to “Hetty and Agatha”

  1. Freya May September 8, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    I’m eying up those patterns for my next knitted project too! Love her whole collection. Great job with this one, and the colour is perfect for the coming colder months 😀
    Freya May

    • makesphere September 8, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

      Thanks! And happy blogiversary to you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Astoria in Aubergine | Makesphere - October 20, 2013

    […] cardigan is my Agatha which I can tell you is ridiculously warm. I’ve worn it a few times but ended up with it […]

  2. The Rushed Rat | Makesphere - April 22, 2014

    […] love the contrast between the green and purple (which also goes perfectly with Agatha!) and I love the fact it has rats on it! I’m on the look out for more rat fabric and also […]

  3. Me-Made-May week 2 | Makesphere - May 17, 2014

    […] on Saturday so why not wear it again on a Thursday?! I did change it up though and also wore my Agatha with […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

