A bunch of fails

24 Oct

So here we are. This time was always going to come. I mean technically I don’t need to post things I’m not happy with. No-one’s holding a gun to my head and forcing me to embarrass myself but I just thinking it’s important to blog about stuff I’m not happy with for a bit of balance.

Here’s the first:

DSCF0633

I made the skirt. I don’t usually wear skirts but I was told an A-line skirt should suit my shape…. turns out that advice was crappy.

My reasons for being unhappy with this skirt are not the make itself, it actually turned out ok. I mean look at these kick pleats

DSCF0652

First ones I’ve ever done and I’m pretty happy with them. I’m just really self-conscious when I wear the skirt so I guess I’m more annoyed that I can’t wear something that I actually really like because it doesn’t suit me.

Next one:

DSCF0625

I’m really pissed that this dress failed because the fabric was expensive (for me- £6 p/m!) It’s a lovely lightweight lawn and looks gorgeous but the dress…

I don’t know what the fuck happened to that hem – the idea was to have the lace peeking out from the bottom of the fabric but apparently that only happens in certain places. How is this not straight?! It’s also really short, way too short for me and creates a sort of bubble effect around my bum which looks terrible.

DSCF0627

The bodice isn’t great either. It’s all just meh.

DSCF0621

This is the last in this post. I’m pissed about this one too. The fabric is SO HEAVY. This looks like a summer dress right?

WRONG! This is way too heavy and therefore sweaty to wear in the summer.  I did my first invisible zip on this dress and it’s pretty perfect. But can I show it off? No. It’s not just the weight of the dress but also the hem. I hate linings riding up throughout the day so thought it’d be a brilliant idea to sew the lining and main fabric skirt together. Only the main skirt is more gathered than the lining and therefore can’t be hemmed together so what am I to do? Here’ I’ve left it unhemmed. I’m just not even touching this for a while, it’s caused me too much agony. (The lining was also a bastard to work with)

What am I going to do with these fails? I don’t know. I think I’ll leave the skirt as is- the fabric’s too heavy and in too small pieces to do anything with anyway and I might feel confident enough to wear it one day. The other two? I’ll pack them away for a bit, revisit them later and think about them then.

2 Responses to “A bunch of fails”

  1. Freya May October 24, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Sucks you’re not happy with them, I think half my makes are only so-so too. It’s all just a learning curve 😀
    Freya Mayx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Me-Made-May week 2 | Makesphere - May 17, 2014

    […] Skirt: The ‘failed’ pencil skirt […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

