The best dress ever (well, to date at least)

1 Nov

So after all the meh-ness on this blog of late, I’m pleased to announce that I love, love, love this dress.

DSCF0648

I love the fabric so much

20131101-210154.jpg

Not only do I like the pattern but it drapes beautifully and it’s so soft! It was lovely to work with too.

I found it in the remnants section at C+H half price. There were only 2 remnants left, both a metre long so I bought both which totalled about £13. No way I would’ve paid that if I didn’t love the fabric! The sad thing is C+H have discontinued it and I have no idea who it’s by; there’s literally nothing on the selvedge. 😦

What I’m mega super happy with about this dress is kind of weird. I saw a picture on Pinterest of a girl wearing a red spotty dress with a lovely blue cardigan and it just struck me. Of course I forgot to pin it to show you and to even look at myself. Anyway, I was already making the blue cardigan (which is Hetty of course!) and then stumbled across this fabric- it was like fate!

This is my poor Hetty substitute and me doing some really weird neck thing :S

DSCF0642

I used Simplicity 1803, view B this time. It’s a tiny bit low cut. Not terribly indecent but I work in a school, we’re pretty much limited to turtle necks, so this is a no go which is really sad because I want to show it off everywhere! It’s got pockets (on the side, stupid 1803) which make it even greater

DSCF0643

Since I love this dress so much I even inserted an invisible zip. I dare you to find it

DSCF0644

Alright well I might have covered it with my hair. Unintentionally I promise! But it’s like the second invisible zip I’ve ever done and apart from a minor fluff with the bias tape at the top it’s pretty darn good! I didn’t even mind hemming this one so you know I love it 😀

If anyone knows anything about this fabric; who it’s by, where I can buy it etc please let me know. I’m not necessarily in the market for more of this (although I definitely am) but there must be more in the range that I can buy!

You know fo sho this dress will be photographed again as soon as I finish Hetty 😉

3 Responses to “The best dress ever (well, to date at least)”

  1. Freya November 14, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    This dress is fantastic, totally love that fabric! I’m glad you are out of your ‘meh’ makes, I hope everything you make now is a ‘yay!’ make:) x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Aurora Dress | Makesphere - February 8, 2014

    […] when I said I made the Best Dress Ever? Well I take it back. This is the Best Dress Ever. For reals this […]

  2. Me-Made-May week 1.5 | Makesphere - May 9, 2014

    […] Dress: My original Best Dress Ever […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

A sewing and knitting blog

