Organising Sewing Suplies

20 Nov

I don’t know about you but I cannot get patterns back in their packets. I imagine the people who make these pattern envelopes to be sick, twisted people whose only pleasure in life is to make sewists suffer as they struggle endlessly to put the pieces back in the envelope.

Or maybe I just suck.

Either way I’ve beaten someone; the horrible pattern-making demons or my own suckishness. Behold my pattern drawer

DSCF0653

These pockets were 3 or 4 for £1. Sadly the black ones were non-negotiable and had to be included, but still much better than what I had before.- which was half empty packets and loads of individual pattern pieces loose in the drawer because I’d just given up.

Also, not only is it difficult to put them back but also difficult to find pieces. You know if you just want one piece from a pattern and in reality you have to take all of them out. Much, much easier now I have a huge wallet to put them all in 😀

DSCF0654

Whilst I’m here I would also like to show off my birthday presents. I got an awesome dress form from my friend for which I’m super grateful, she is called Gladys.

I also got this beauty

DSCF0657

It’s a Cath Kidston sewing basket and now houses most of my sewing supplies. As you can see my threads are kept on a rack to the right of it, buttons are in the clear jar, zips in the stripy jar and machine-related bits are in the sewing machine tin (which came from the same friend that gave me Gladys- she’s a super awesome friend!) but everything else

DSCF0655

is in here!

DSCF0656

Yes, that is a lighter, I use it to burn ribbon ends, not projects that have gone horrible wrong!

I have also finished my Agatha cardigan! But it is SO MISERABLE OUTSIDE so you’ll just have to wait a bit for me to photograph it. By that time I’ll probably have finished Hetty too…

One Response to “Organising Sewing Suplies”

  1. Miriana November 20, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    Only weirdos can get the patterns back in their envelopes!

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

