Christmas Wishlist

16 Dec

You may be thinking ‘You greedy cow. You just won the Stitcher’s Dream giveaway and you still have a wish list?’

Yep.

The giveaway has been great, don’t get me wrong. So many lovely fabrics I would never have dreamt splashing out on with my own, actual, has been in my bank account money but gift vouchers are not real money and therefore can be spent willy nilly. (Pah, willy nilly.)

I have already made a Miette skirt. *blushes* Yeah, that happened. The fabric came on Friday and by Sunday morning I had finished hand stitching the waistband facing down. But more on that later.  On with the wish list!

First up is this Dritz EZY-HEM

51T6+DKcPsL._SL1101_

I’m sure by now you all know of my hate for hemming. Anything to make that endless task easier is a win in my books. Top of my wish list it goes.

Next is some French Curves

81f19sJPAAL._SL1500_

I don’t do an awful lot of from-scratch drafting these days; usually I have a pattern or two that I can adapt into what I want so I don’t really need these. I can think of one time when I’ve thought I could do with a french curve. But they look awesome so they go on the list.

An interchangeable needle set

81AGJnB34+L._SL1500_

This is a really close no. 2 on my wish list. Circular needles annoy me for 2 reasons

1. They come in different needle widths and different cable lengths. This means extra £s shelled out on a slightly different size (I usually just pull the cable through and make do rather than spend more money. What can I say, I’m cheap.)

2. Why, oh why, do circular needles not have a size printed on them? I spend ages measuring them up against my regular needles trying to deduce what size they are.

This set will eliminate both of those issues. And they’re pink.

110 creations: A Sewist’s Notebook.

product_thumbnail.php

I’m cheating a little here. It’s not technically on my wish list because I’m actually in the process of ordering it. I currently keep a blank notebook with my ideas in but the problem is I draw all my croquis with perfect hourglass figures so of course nothing looks the same on me. When I saw this book I thought ‘yeah, nice idea but the croquis is a stick’

But here’s the best bit: BETH DOES CUSTOM DRAWINGS!!! AAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH

So yeah, I’m currently going through the embarrassing thing of taking a photo of myself in tight-fitting clothes so I can have a little me-shaped croquis. Yay!

This adorable rat fabric

Because yes.

Birch Fabrics- Elk Grove Knits

jadeforbiorf32

Elks! I have been dying for this fabric for like forever. It’s kind of pricey compared to my usual budget but I’m totally willing to suck it up for this, when it comes back in stock. Apparently everyone loves this fabric as it’s always out of stock!!

And of course a billion other things, but I can’t be too greedy.

Whilst I’m here I’ll just post this photo

It’s Mark’s birthday on Wednesday and how can you get more appropriately-aged than Batman?!

Yes, I am a terribly messy worker. You should see my sewing room…

 

I hope you all have a fab holiday and get everything you want from your wish lists.

Merry Christmas 😀 😀

2 Responses to “Christmas Wishlist”

  1. Miriana December 16, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    Maybe it’s time to splash out a couple of quid on a needle gauge! But I share your frustration at invisible needle sizing. Oddly, I have interchangeables but prefer my regular circular (which may be ‘cos they’re Addi, but mainly ‘cos I’m too lazy to change needles)

    • makesphere December 16, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

      Ooooh yes, I love Addi needles. I have 1, and if I’d known they were so much better than the Pony ones I would’ve started out with them. I just assumed a circular needle was a circular needle you know?!
      And why on earth did I not think of a needle gauge?! I’ve seen them in shops and thought ‘why would you need one of those when the sizes are printed on the top?’ and then not made the connection when there is no size!!
      I’m going to order one right now- thanks!!

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

