Hetty’s here!

18 Feb

It’s half-term, it hasn’t rained for 6 hours and I’m watching Dexter’s laboratory, what a fantastic day!

To make it even better, The Great British Sewing Bee starts tonight!!!! I’m seriously pumped for it, I might even get in some popcorn!

In other news, since it hasn’t rained for 6 hours I decided to photograph some way overdue projects (as well as some new ones) so I’m happy to present

DSCF3517

Hetty!!

Yup, I tackled those sleeves like a boss and they’re much more flattering now. The left one is still tighter than the right one so either I have a particularly fat left arm or something went wrong but not so much I feel I need to reknit again again.

DSCF3516

I lengthened it slightly: cropped cardigans work great for me because 99% of the time I wear dresses and it’s much more flattering to have one that sits at the waist, but my Agathas are just slightly too short.By the way the pattern was going I figured this would be the same length so I did either 1 or 2 more sets of the pattern (can’t remember because it was so long ago!) and I think it’s the perfect length. It’s not restricted just to dresses now and could equally be worn with skirts or trousers too.

All other construction was fairly straight forward- I’m pretty used to Andi’s patterns now and this one was super easy to remember so I didn’t even have to keep looking at my phone every 2 minutes. (Agatha was a bitch for that man. I remembered it eventually but sheesh. Talk about square eyes.)

I must also mention the buttonholes. My 2 Agathas do not have buttonholes. Both times I forgot to add them in and then could not be arsed to go back and add them. I don’t do cardigans up that often anyway so whatevs. This time  I totally remembered to knit in the buttonholes, all 7 of them, only to discover I only had 5 buttons. 😥

DSCF3524

I bought these at Walthamstow, not for this particular project otherwise I definitely would’ve bought 7, but they were just so perfect I couldn’t see any other buttons taking their place. So I had to sew up 3 of the buttonholes and just sew on 4 (for balance due to the already-constructed buttonholes)

I honestly don’t know why I bothered with the buttonholes!

Regular readers will know that I constructed both the dress and the cardigan with the other in mind thanks to a pin on Pinterest. These two were always destined to be together. So imagine my reaction when Mark tells me  “I don’t like the cardigan with that dress. They don’t go.”

Yup.

4 Responses to “Hetty’s here!”

  1. Sara Crafts February 19, 2014 at 5:25 pm #

    I found your blog thanks to the link you put on the Ravelry forum. 🙂

    Your dresses are so, so, cute and I love your knits, too! By the way, judging by the photos, I think the dress and cardi look great together. 😉

    Rav ID: SaraMCrafts

    • Courtney February 20, 2014 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks Sara! I will continue to wear the two together whatever he says!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kelly the First | Makesphere - March 7, 2014

    […] buttons I used are the ones I bought as a substitute for Hetty until I realised that they just weren’t as good as the ones I had. Luckily for me though, […]

  2. Miette: the Cardigan. | Makesphere - June 4, 2014

    […] The more observant among you may have noticed  large flaw- I am missing the top button. I could’ve sworn the pattern needed 7 buttons so I happily asked for 7 at the counter only to find I had 8 buttonholes when I got home. I’m going to go back and see if I can get another but if not then I’ll leave it. I love the buttons too much and I never do cardigans up anyway- just why did this have to happen again?! […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

