Kelly the First

7 Mar

It’s skirts, skirts, skirts here at Makesphere towers. I’ve gone from wearing them maybe once a year to wearing them almost interchangeably with my dresses. Granted, they don’t suit me as much as dresses, but it does give me the chance to wear tops that for some reason I kept buying but had no reason to wear.

So here’s the third instalment of skirt central, my first Kelly!

Yup, I’m pre-empting again. I’ve got at least 2 more Kellys planned but they are going to require some work.

Pleats are supposed to be my friend. For my huge arse, pleats are a godsend because they allow me to still have a small waist and yet there’s enough fabric to cover said buttocks. These pleats are not my friend.

It’s kind of difficult to tell because the skirt’s black but the skirt is pulling, or rather I should say my bum is pushing its way out through the skirt and the pleats aren’t sitting very well at all.

I did add a bit of extra fabric to make the pleats slightly bigger to accommodate for this but obviously not enough so for like the first time ever I might actually have to make a… *gasp* muslin?

I mean I’m OK with the skirt. Like I said it’s black so it’s difficult to tell and people probably won’t notice anyway. But for my next two versions, this won’t fly at all.

Back on the positives though, I’m pretty happy with the pockets!

And, these were my FIRST EVER BUTTONHOLES!

I’m really quite pleased with them, I even Instagrammed this picture of them

Screen Shot 2014-02-19 at 10.49.05

(Please note that the second buttonhole has a chalk marking next to it, it’s just as good as the first really!)

The buttons I used are the ones I bought as a substitute for Hetty until I realised that they just weren’t as good as the ones I had. Luckily for me though, Hetty requires 7 buttons and so does Kelly. Poifec!

I used a black rayon/linen blend from Minerva for this version. It was quite easy to work with in terms of slippage but man does it shed. Black strands everywhere!  I seem to have made a habit of linen skirts lately, having never worked with linen or made a skirt prior to my first Miette! My next two versions are also going to be fabrics I’ve never worked with before but no more linen!

Speaking of which, what can you do with linen remnants? I have a bit of blue left from my first Miette, a bit of red from my second and now some black left from this Kelly. They vary in size but the blue one is close to a metre I’d say. Any suggestions?

6 Responses to “Kelly the First”

  1. Freya May March 7, 2014 at 9:48 am #

    It looks great from the front! Shame you need to make adjustments- I hate doing that because I’m afraid I’ll screw it up. Good luck! xxx

  2. thisblogisnotforyou March 7, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    Great skirt! I also just made my first Kelly skirt last week. I love it, but I hate the pleats on mine, too. Normally that A-line shape should be really flattering, but the back pleats seem to make my bum look bigger than it is. :/

    • Courtney March 8, 2014 at 9:58 am #

      I’m glad it’s not just me then!

  3. Emmely March 7, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

    I think darts might actually work better on the back than pleats, but perhaps that is something you can try out in your muslin.
    The colette Sorbetto doesn’t require a lot of fabric and is nice in linen so if the remnants that you have work together that might be an option? https://www.colettepatterns.com/sewing/sorbetto If your pieces are too small for a garment you can always make napkins.

    • Courtney March 8, 2014 at 9:59 am #

      That’s a good idea, I might give it a go on my muslin.
      The Sorbetto is a nice suggestion too- I have made a version before so have all the pieces ready to go so it won’t be a waste of printing if they don’t fit. Thanks 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Denim Kelly | Makesphere - June 22, 2014

    […] else I did pretty much the same as my first Kelly except I topstitched all the seams here for that proper denim look. I’m actually pretty […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

