Owl never make this again.

16 Mar

Have you ever been really excited by making something, eager to finish it and then show it off to everyone only to be let down by the fact it looks absolutely terrible?

Guys, this happened to me and I kind of want to cry as well as drop-kick the offending item into oblivion.

Kate Davies’ Owls jumper is cropping up all over the inter webs. According to my Ravelry Notes I started this in April 2013 but you know how it goes with me and second sleeves so I put it away for a while. Seeing everyone else’s made me pick it back up and I powered on through to get it finished.

Except it looks awful. Look:

I think I just have too much boobage to pull something like this off. All of the attention is drawn there because of the yoke detail but the detail is kind of distorted by the boobs. Ignoring the stupid wind face here, look how much worse it looks from the side:

I’m also really pissed at the sleeves. You guys know I hate knitting them so I decided to make these 3/4 length. Only you wouldn’t know that! I put them on to measure them as I went and stopped when they reached my armpit, just as the pattern says, and yet when I’ve got it on now the sleeves sit longer than that, and yet not a full-length sleeve so now they’re a stupid weird length.

And then there’s the fact that bottom-up construction is the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever encountered. It is so difficult to knit the sleeves and body all in one go and also it leaves a hole! A great big gaping hole that you’re supposed to close up afterwards. What is that about?!

Anyway, none of this is the pattern’s fault. The pattern is actually quite straight-forward to follow, this is just down to stupid body shape and poor yarn choice. I can’t quite remember what I used but I think it was Sirdar Hayfield or something and it’s just too stiff and it doesn’t meld together. There are holes around the back and arm shaping which look awful.

The owls look awesome and my friend really likes it. I’m tempted to give it to her but I don’t know if I could give her something I’m not completely happy with.

8 Responses to “Owl never make this again.”

  1. Miriana March 16, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

    Can’t help you with the boobs, but you could unravel a bit of the sleeves and either kin them shorter or longer

  2. Courtney March 16, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

    I did consider it, but I’m just done with it now. I think it will just sit in my wardrobe for eternity!

  3. Lou March 16, 2014 at 10:54 pm #

    Had to comment as I’ve been there!!! I’m so glad it’s not just me! Nothing wrong with this pattern as such, but I bought a lovely yarn for it & spent ages knitting it, only to put it on and look like a frumpy mess. It’s not your body shape at all – I’m a B cup & curvy and it still looked revolting. I could just about get away with it on top of an a-line/circle skirt but the yarn was so dense and yet…stringy (as you say, not melding together properly), at that gauge that I just had to unravel it. It might have been better had I ignored the waist shaping (so unnecessary in a jumper that thick and tight, surely!) or tried it with a lighter, fuzzier yarn, but pfft. I turned mine into an Aidez: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/aidez and luckily it fits really nicely, but thinking about the hours I wasted on this pattern makes me want to cry 😦

    • Courtney March 17, 2014 at 11:24 am #

      You’re a stronger person than I- I could not unravel this thing. I feel like if I leave it in the wardrobe long enough it will magically become awesome.

  4. sybilqiu March 17, 2014 at 2:51 am #

    I just gotta say, your smile makes that sweater look good.

  5. Anna August 23, 2014 at 6:45 pm #

    I think you look great! You and I have a similar body shape (hourglass, large bust, short waist, lots of curves, although unlike you, I now resemble a 2 liter bottle after two kids and a rather sedentary lifestyle >_< ). But for some reason, I really like how the shape and style of that sweater compliments your figure.

    A great bra makes all the difference, I've discovered, and it looks like you've got that covered. You're a beautiful girl, don't be afraid to show it off. Very good sewing skills, too. 😀

    • Courtney August 25, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

      What a lovely comment, thank you 😀
      I’ve recently started rethinking the pattern and wondering whether it might look better made up in wool. I think at least 50% of my hatred for this jumper comes from the yarn and the fabric it’s created. Maybe I’ll give it another go but there are so many new things I want to do too! Oh for more time to knit.

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

