Baby project

28 Mar

No, don’t get ahead of yourselves, it’s not what you think. I am definitely not giving up my crafting evenings to a poop machine.

But apparently someone else is, so her Godmother, whom I happen to work with, asked me if I would knit her some cardigans she could give as a present.

Usually I’m not in the habit of taking on knitting projects for others. Sewing is a much quicker process so I don’t mind those so much (though I still accept most of them begrudgingly!) but knitting… that takes a lot of love and effort and much more time than sewing does so I usually laugh it off and hope they never mention it again.

However, I had seen some really cute baby patterns, plus they’re tiny so they wouldn’t take long to knit so I agreed. Sadly, her Goddaughter isn’t so into the girly girly so I had to tone it down and reluctantly put down the perfect white rabbit buttons I’d found but I think they’re still pretty cute.

The first one she picked is a hoodie/cardigan

 

This was a free pattern from Bernat which was knit in pieces and then seamed. I made a massive cock up at first and read all the pattern sizes as cm instead of inches (I swear, I checked them like 20 times!) and when I pinned it together I wasn’t sure. I mean I don’t have children so I don’t know how big babies are but this thing wouldn’t even fit a doll so I assumed it was wrong. So I basically started again and it was a pretty quick knit.

However, since the ends aren’t in a true rib (they look slightly ribbed because they’re knit on a smaller needle) it kept rolling up which was pissing me off no end. I tried blocking it, even though it’s acrylic, and boy did that take some pins!

As that made no difference whatsoever I then crocheted the edges for a bit more stability. It worked on the arms but nothing else so I moved on to plan C.

I stabilised the bottom, hood and button bands with some bias binding and then decided to go the whole hog and bind all the seams, even the armholes!

That was a good few hours of hand stitching but I do think it was worth it.

The second one didn’t require nearly as much work and was a joy to knit.

The reason it was so lovely to knit was down to the construction.It has raglan sleeves which are provisionally knitted along with the top of the cardigan, with some clever increasing that leaves that lovely pattern, and then the stitches are put on hold whilst you finish the body and picked up afterwards to finish off the sleeve. I’m sure many of you have come across this before but it’s the first time I’ve knit this type of construction and it really makes the second sleeve syndrome much easier to deal with. I’m definitely going to be looking out for more of this type of pattern for my own cardigans- I really love the look of the increasing along the sleeve.

The pattern was well-written too and worth the couple of quid I spent on it.

(Also, I promise the button band isn’t wonky- I was just about to give them away when I remembered I hadn’t taken photos so had to do it quickly!)

The recipient seemed really pleased with them and to be honest I am too. It took me about 6 weeks to do both (and I finished one of my own cardigans in between!) -really quick knits. Maybe I should get on with the baby-making…!

One Response to “Baby project”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Miette: the Cardigan. | Makesphere - June 4, 2014

    […] my baby cardigan post I mentioned a style of knitting I hadn’t come across before by provisionally knitting the […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

