My Hiro.

12 Apr

As mentioned in my Hollywood Sew Along- part 2 post, I usually see things I like and then make a direct copy of them. With Ravelry, this is now getting worse. If I see a pattern I like I usually just make it in the colour it’s shown in. I’m trying hard to pick other colours but most of what’s drawn me to the pattern is how it looks in that colour so…

Anyway, before I knew Ravelry existed I found a pin of the most gorgeous jumper- beautiful colour work and the colours worked really well together. Somehow I wanted to make something like that but I put it aside to get some experience in knitting jumpers in the first place before I decided to go and make my own pattern.

Then I found the pattern on Ravelry! And better yet, it came in a cardigan version too!

I added it to my ever-growing list of items to make and quickly worked my way through to get there. It was so much fun to knit!

 

As you can see there’s a lot of solid navy which usually I would moan about knitting- I didn’t even moan about the sleeves this time! It’s all done in DK but it knit up surprisingly quickly. I finished this cardigan in 13 days.

13 DAYS!!!!

I thoroughly enjoyed doing the colour work at the top and I even perfected my kitchener stitch to graft those armholes.

 

I’m kind of pissed with it though- it just kind of hangs there, there’s no shape to it. I don’t get what happened- there was shaping in the pattern.

What you see here is a modified version- it was much worse than this. I wish I’d taken a photo so you could see, but I added some darts to try and create some shape. Literal darts, like you would do with fabric: two fisheye ones in the back and regular ones in the sides. They’re really bulky but I’m too chicken to steek!

Here’s the inside: admire the colour work and then mock the darts.

I think what I’ve learned form my last two knitting projects are:

1) Don’t use acrylic yarn

Honestly, I’m not a yarn snob and I didn’t care whether my yarn was wool or not but wool blocks so you can create shape better. It also seems to meld together to make one ‘fabric’ but acrylic seems to leave little holes next to the increases and just does its own thing which is difficult to control.

2) I don’t think bottom up, yoked sweaters are for me. As I mentioned with my Owl jumper, the yoke just draws attention to an already quite prominent area and I feel like the rest of the cardigan is hanging off the yoke instead of working together.

 

One day I may remake this, in wool yarn and do some extra shaping around the waist to compensate for the coat hanger-yness of the yoke and my proportionately small waist but right now I’m going to stick with what I know and like- top down patterns! (Specficially Andi Satterlund’s! Any guesses on what I’m working on at the minute?!)

9 Responses to “My Hiro.”

  1. Nessa April 12, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

    It looks really great! Love the colours and done up, it looks fitted enough.
    Hope your second attempt is more to your liking.

    • Courtney April 12, 2014 at 4:42 pm #

      Looking in the photo it definitely looks better than it feels, which is a good thing!

  2. thisblogisnotforyou April 12, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    Wow, this is really lovely! I cannot believe that it only took you 13 days to finish that!

    • Courtney April 12, 2014 at 11:19 pm #

      Nor can I! I think I was really motivated by the constant changes because there’s so much going on. Before I knew it it was done!

  3. Zoe April 23, 2014 at 6:58 am #

    It looks so awesome, you did an amazing job! I go on ravelry and find things for my mum to knit me, I prefer to stick to sewing myself.

  4. Anna August 23, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

    I like how the yoke fits you, and the navy with the navy dress underneath has a great slimming effect that really accentuates your lovely curves.

    • Courtney August 25, 2014 at 10:43 pm #

      Thankyou 🙂
      I like the yoke too. I’m going to reknit this in wool and shape the bottom half better so I wear it more often because it is a lovely pattern. Although this navy dress is pretty much the only thing that goes with it at the moment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Me-Made-May week 2 | Makesphere - May 17, 2014

    […] non-photo day! I wore my Simple Daisy dress, provisionally with my Hiro cardigan but the weather has been Be-A-utiful so it was off for most of the day and now I’ve […]

  2. Miette: the Cardigan. | Makesphere - June 4, 2014

    […] from this post you guessed that I was knitting Andi Satterlund’s Miette then you were […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

