The Wedding Quilt

20 May

On the subject of completing goals, I’ve conquered another one!

I said I’d like to finish my wedding quilt, preferably by July but definitely by the end of the year. Well I’ve already done it!

My Nan cut out about 100 6″ squares and then we left them on tables with fabric pens, glitter glue and pearl pens for people to sign. I knew for a fact that a guestbook would get buried away somewhere and rarely looked at but I can’t sit on the sofa without a quilt and so this gets used all the time.

Sewing the squares together was a lot more painful than it should have been.

1) My Nan didn’t cut the squares all exactly the same size!

2) People wrote write to the edge of the fabric…

Both of these things meant that some messages had to be chopped off a bit and there are a few places where all 4 corners don’t meet exactly.

After I’d done that I thought it’d be a really fab idea to have a decorative quilting pattern and an even better idea to quilt it all BY HAND.

This is why it’s taken me 10 months to finish the darn thing! That’s a King Size (5ft wide) bed it’s on- I worked out it took me about 100 hours to quilt it all and when I was near the end I wondered whether actually it would’ve been better to just tie it. As it goes I like it, especially now I can see the whole thing at once in the photo and it provides a nice pattern on what would otherwise have been a very boring back.

Not that I’ll forget our anniversary (one would hope!) but I embroidered the date in the centre

We got some really lovely messages:

To some weird drawings

(I think this is us, naked. Drawn by Mark’s Grandad…)

I’m not entirely sure what this is

(Somebody said it’s a rat- I think that’s the best interpretation so far. Any further guesses?)

 

To this:

Yeah, we got married on Mark’s brother’s 18th birthday. We’re such pricks.

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

