Denim Kelly

22 Jun

Denim skirts have been out of my wardrobe for a long time. Skirts in general were out of my wardrobe for a long time, but with my goal of trying to increase my skirt-robe (that’s skirt+wardrobe don’t ya know) I figured a casual skirt would be necessary and give me a chance to work with denim.

DSCF4696

 

If you’re sick of hearing about the giveaway then look away now. Would you believe that it’s lasted this long? I’ve still got a voucher to spend!!

I got this denim from myfabricplace.co.uk as part of THE Giveaway. A little bit risky as it was bought unseen but mostly it’s fine. The colour is exactly what I wanted but it’s a bit stretchy which I didn’t know.

It was so stiff though! Like, the stuff didn’t even move, ever. I washed that shit 3 or 4 times in vinegar and then tumble dried it to get some movement in it- I had to follow internet directions for how to vintageify stuff ‘for that washed-out, worn look’. But finally I had a usable fabric!

DSCF4698

 

Sewing with denim is actually not as big a deal as I thought it would be. I used a denim needle and it went through no problem- no breakage here. It’s a little more difficult to press, but that was about the biggest difference.

Everything else I did pretty much the same as my first Kelly except I topstitched all the seams here for that proper denim look. I’m actually pretty pleased with how they turned out, not too much wobbliness going on.

AAAAAAAAANNNNNDDDD LOOK AT THESE POCKETS

DSCF4703

 

 

Because denim and zebras go together. Obvs.

(Look at my t-shirt if you don’t believe me. Zebras4life.)

My husband said it was ridiculous having polka dot zebra pockets in a denim skirt. I told him he was ridiculous and did it anyway.

I even used hammer-in denim buttons- and I used lots of them. In my first Kelly I realised that the buttons were spaced too far apart for me. Maybe it’s because I work in a school but I’m always conscious that there’s a gap between the buttons so I added in an extra one or two for this skirt.

 

DSCF4702

I’m not 100% happy with it though. I mentioned this issue in my first Kelly post but I think this shape is not a good look for me. It’s funny because somebody I’d never met before actually said to me ‘where did you get your skirt? I love the shape of it’ but I feel a bit conscious in it and I’m always trying to adjust the pleats. I think I would have been happier in a normal A-line skirt.  I do have some denim left over, probably enough to squeeze an A-line skirt from. So even though I’ll have gone from 0-2 denim skirts in a few weeks I might do it, in the name of science.

 

2 Responses to “Denim Kelly”

  1. Kaitlyn Emmett June 22, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

    Such a lovely skirt, very practical, and absolutely love the zebras

    • Courtney June 27, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks! I knew my husband was wrong…they usually are.

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

Sybil Q knits

going wherever yarn goes...

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Sew Convert

This is my blessed life. Family. Sewing. Travel. A simple blog by a sewing convert.

Sew Busy Lizzy

she sews by the seashore...

Tanit-Isis Sews

because my fingers itch...

male pattern boldness

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

A Makeup & Beauty Blog - Lipglossiping

One girl's rants, reviews and ramblings on eclectic cosmetic discoveries and high-street hunting.

Handmade Jane

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Rittles and Bittles

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Frocks & Frou Frou

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

The Dressmaking Diaries

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Vixen Vintage

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Tilly and the Buttons

A blog about sewing, knitting and whatever else comes to mind

Did You Make That?

Leading UK sewing blog where we believe creativity is contagious

